Smile Precure – 40+41 Released

"you gonna get blankly stared at"-cure

“you gonna get blankly stared at”-cure

40: HD Torrent | SD Torrent | Script
41: HD Torrent | SD Torrent | Script

Okay catching up yeah! Things have been a bit hectic as of late with the holiday period and what have you, but the team’s full of the coolest peoples so I can forgive them their having real lives and stuff (sayeth I, the flakiest of all the fansubbers – I still can’t believe I’m actually gonna finish a second fucking show :V)

Anyway, these eps mark the start of the Character Episodes Block(TM). Here is what you need to know about these: They’re really good, and each one is better than the last. These two are kind of just plain good, 42 made me tear up, and 43 is like, “wow, this is better than some of the better eps from other Precure shows.” A high compliment for Smile!

That said I haven’t seen Miyuki’s character ep – 44 – yet, so it could all go tits-up at the end or something. I hope not, though, a block of 5 good eps might almost make me like this show for a little while until the finale inevitably disappoints. At least there’s Go-Busters, I guess.

Oh, and, while I remember: Volleyball.

5 thoughts on “Smile Precure – 40+41 Released

    • Have patience, Magenta addressed it in the Twitter section about PCAS NS. I’m waiting for it too; I’m just hoping for a SD of it as well when this group’s take of it gets done.

      As for these two episodes, best to date so far; I cannot wait to see the next ones (42 – 44) before 45 airs, but once again, it’s just a matter of being very patient here.

  1. Really, the reason character-centric episodes in Smile tend to be really good is because Smile has a cast deserving of a much better show than the one they have. You have a set of very likable heroines, and Candy, and villains with a lot of personality. If they had a show that did more episodes about the characters, or like you said more episodes that dealt with the theme of fairytales in an interesting way like 39, Smile could easily have been one of the best Precure seasons. Instead we got, well, Smile.

    • You know, I find it difficult to separate the notion of the quality of the cast and the quality of the show as being too separate things (as I am such a character-focused kinda person) but thinking about it, yeah, I can see that. I think the mistake of Smile is that in aiming for simplicity and accessibility, they assumed they had to do that by ensuring that the characters never really changed, whereas it can be done just as easily by ensuring that you don’t need to know WHY the characters have changed to be the way they are now. I think it really hits home with these eps where we’re suddenly expected to care about the fate of the villains, when really they’ve been completely lacking in any kind of intrigue all series.

Leave a Reply

