Yes! Precure 5 – 22 Released

JESUS CHRIST IT'S A MILK GET IN THE CAR

MP4: DDL | Torrent
MKV: DDL | Torrent
Thanks to the lovely CureGecko for the DDLs, and as with all of our Precure releases, you can grab this episode from the lovely [Precure]AllStars bot in either #precure or #news on irc.rizon.net, thanks to the ever-sexcellent Rika-chama.

Dear god, has it really been more than a month? Sorry, mostly my fault for getting the plague I guess. I’ll blame Ryken slightly too though. :V Anyway, enjoy another exciting episode of Precure 5 where everyone loves and cares about Milk despite her being a massive bitch.

But it’s okay, because she’s adorable. <3

Translatey stuff after the jump.

Not really much to talk about this ep. Masuko Mika is still kind of annoying to deal with and Bumbee is still awesome da mon~

I guess I should touch on the honorifics thing – I’m kind of avoiding having Milk use them because it seems unnatural for an ‘alien’ from another dimension to be flinging -samas around everywhere. I am in general kind of falling out of love with honorifics anyway, so maybe I’m considering this a bit of an experiment. I don’t think it’s really a big issue, but just one I’m re-evaluating my stance on I guess? Feel free to critique whether you think it works or not. Feedback is always welcome <3

Speaking of Milk, it was kind of the shock of the century to me that “shock of the century” exists verbatim as an expression in Japanese too. What was also amusing to me is the Japanese kind of “we’re as different as can be” expression. I settled on ‘as different as chalk and cheese’ for an English translation because it seemed the most commonly used equivalent, but the literal Japanese is “as different as the moon and a turtle.” I wish I was making that up.

This language is retarded, I love it.

And finally, let me share with you an exciting and riveting section of the script:

Dialogue: 0,0:10:14.26,0:10:15.10,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk?
Dialogue: 0,0:10:16.89,0:10:17.73,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk!
Dialogue: 0,0:10:18.64,0:10:19.13,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Huh?
Dialogue: 0,0:10:22.09,0:10:22.84,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk!
Dialogue: 0,0:10:24.25,0:10:25.01,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk!
Dialogue: 0,0:10:27.18,0:10:27.83,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk?
Dialogue: 0,0:10:29.23,0:10:30.04,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk!
Dialogue: 0,0:10:40.43,0:10:41.26,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Mil!
Dialogue: 0,0:10:42.44,0:10:43.91,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,M-Mil…
Dialogue: 0,0:10:44.85,0:10:45.91,PC5Dialog,,0000,0000,0000,,Milk!

What a great episode.

11 thoughts on “Yes! Precure 5 – 22 Released

  1. Haha, conflicts already.

    I guess I just feel like it’s kind of situational and it doesn’t always belong. I do feel that honorifics have their place – with Precure, I’d even go so far as to argue they’re important. There was… ep 8, was it, where the entire purpose of the episode was basically to change the honorifics Rin and Karen use to refer to each other.

    It is also just a nice shortcut in terms of saving line space and keeping sentences short – I kind of feel like if I drop an honorific I _have_ to put something in the line that roughly captures the feel of it (make the line slightly cutesy if there’s a -chan, or whatever.)

    But at the same time, I think outside of the situations where honorifics are important (i.e. the bizarre social heirarchy of Japanese schools) keeping them in is kind of unnecessary. I keep the -kuns with Nightmare because, frankly, the business use of -kun is absolutely hilarious, but in general I try to avoid having otherworldly aliens (villain or otherwise) tossing around Japanese honorifics like they’re trying to pass their citizenship exam.

    I guess it’s just trying to find a balance of when and where to use them.

    • with your reference to the “-chan” honorific, is that like what you did in OOO ep9 with ankh at the beginning when the restaurant owner saw his hand and the subs said “honey”?

    • Gogo is curecom’s work, and they’ve just had a bit of an FPC frenzy so i’m hoping some more Gogo is onthe cars as i know the scripts have been subbed

  2. Does it bother you when Digimon/Pokemon/animals in magical girl animes etc. are using honorifics? O_o

    I don’t understand why it’s bothering you when ”otherworldly aliens” are using Japanese honorifics, I mean they ARE speaking Japanese… They aren’t speaking English/German/Italian/alien and adding Japanese honorifics in it (now THAT would sound bad)… And besides, a lot of characters in animes are ”otherworldly aliens”, so what’s the big deal? If you aren’t surprised at aliens, animals, monsters etc. speaking ANY human language, I mean SPEAKING at all, why be surprised at them speaking Japanese? In a Japanese cartoon? Of course all the characters will speak the language of the country that made the cartoon/movie/series/whatever, so if they speak it, they speak it as it’s supposed to be spoken, and Japanese is supposed to use honorifics. XD

    There are characters that fling -samas around everywhere, like there are characters that fling -desus around everywhere (which I personally hate), so what does it matter if the chara is a person/alien/turtle/unicorn/whatever? It’s part of their character and speach pattern. And all (or most) of characters in animes are Japanese, and Japan is the center of the world, so it’s normal they all use Japanese (with honorifics, since those are part of Japanese).

    You can’t seriously be surprised at aliens speaking Japanese, haven’t you learned that there are lots of stuff that can’t be explained in animes and should be taken as they are? XD Like magical girls looking exactly the same after transformation, but nobody is able to recognise them; or little kids being smarter than adults and developing awesome strategies; or girls looking like boys and boys looking like girls etc. etc. XD

    Please just either use all of the honorifics or don’t use any (I’m for using all of them), I feel it’s kinda stupid to use half of them. >_<
    Sorry for the rant. :P

  3. Hi, I realize this episode was put up a while back but I would like to watch it. Unfortunately there are no seeds right now, so if possible could someone on here seed please? I will try to seed downloaded files too especially ones without many seeders. Thank you

Leave a Reply

